America, the Beautiful


Jessica Mathaes, guest violinist

We will be celebrating “America, the Beautiful” in all its diverse splendor on Saturday November 5th , at the Austin ISD Performing Arts Center. Guest soloist Jessica Mathaes will perform music by Samuel Barber on a concert that will also feature music from West Side Story, Porgy and Bess, and the Afro-American Symphony by William Grant Still.


arr. Bennett
  Porgy and Bess: A Symphonic Picture
orch. Schuman
  Variations on "America"
  Overture to West Side Story
  Violin Concerto, Op. 14, Allegro 
Jessica Mathaes, violin
  Still   Symphony No. 1 in A-flat, Afro-American

  • Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 4 PM
  • Austin ISD Performing Arts Center
    1500 Barbara Jordan Blvd.
    Austin, TX  78723

    This project is supported in part by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department. 

Go Back