Texas Rising Stars

Free Concert Features Top Young Musicians!

Saturday, March 25, 2017, at 7:30 pm

Bates Recital Hall
University of Texas at Austin

Join the Austin Civic Orchestra for our fifth annual Texas Rising Stars Concert on Saturday, March 25 at The University of Texas at Austin's Bates Recital Hall!

Winners of the Butler School of Music’s String Concerto Competition — four artists 30 years old and younger — will perform concerti by Felix Mendelssohn, Serge Koussevitzy, Niccolò Paganini and Robert Schumann. 

The second half of the concert features pieces selected by ACO Music Director Lois Ferrari. Acclaimed pianist Artina McCain will perform the final movement of Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 20. McCain, who earned her doctorate from UT Austin, won a 2016 American Prize in solo piano and two Global Music Awards in 2014.

The orchestra will end the concert with William Grant Still’s historic Symphony No. 1, “Afro-American,” the first symphony composed by an African American that was performed by a major orchestra. We hope to see you there!

Come early for a pre-concert discussion with UT faculty members who guide the development of young musicians and facilitate the annual concerto competition. The conversation begins at 6:30 pm in room 2.604 near the Recital Hall. 

Interested, but can't attend?  The concert will be streamed here.  


Upcoming Events
Click Season Calendar to view our upcoming concerts.

Thanks to our 2016-2017 sponsors!

    This project is supported in part by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department.


News & Notes


Pre-Concert Talk
Come to room 2.604 at 6:30 pm on March 25 to hear UT faculty
 Brian LewisSandy Yamamoto, and DaXun Zhang chat about their students and take questions from the audience.


TRS Concert Streamed

Can't attend the concert?  Listen online at here.


ACO a finalist for the American Prize
The Austin Civic Orchestra has been selected as a finalist for the 2016 American Prize in Orchestral Performance - community orchestra division.


Lois Ferrari a finalist for the American Prize
Dr. Lois Ferrari, ACO Music Director, has been chosen a finalist for the 2016 American Prize in Conducting - community orchestra division.  Congratulations to Dr. Ferrari!


Paint to Music Contest
ACO is sponsoring a Paint to Music Contest for pre-K through 12th grade students in Austin and surrounding areas.  Click here for details.